close Закрыть

Olegario Vazques Raña continues as the ISSF President

34 years after his first election, the ISSF General Assembly entrusted Mr. Olegario Vazquez Raña (MEX) for the ninth consecutive time. Mr. Franz Schreiber (GER) was elected on the position of the ISSF Secretary General.

The ISSF General Assembly reelected President Olegario Vazquez Raña for another four-year term this morning. Mr. Vazquez Raña received 165 votes, beating the sole candidate Sheikh Salman Al Sabah (KUW), who collected 128 votes. Olegario Vazquez Raña – a four-time Olympian and a rifle shooting record-setter – enters his ninth consecutive Presidential term since his first election in 1980.

“Thank you for your loyalty and for your trust”, said Mr. Olegario Vazquez Raña to the delegates right after his reelection. “You have given me the opportunity to reaffirm my commitment to all sport shooters of the world and to this sport family that I love. You can be certain that for the upcoming four years, changes and developments will continue. We will keep on working on our agenda, to make us stronger, to reach more athletes all around the world, so that our beloved sport becomes more attractive to people and more solid in the Olympic Movement. I am convinced that with your support the next four years will be really productive, because if we are united the future of our sport will be bright.

Two Europeans among the ISSF Vice Presidents

The President of the European Shooting Confederation Vladimir Lisin (RUS) and Luciano Rossi (ITA) were elected as the Vice Presidents of ISSF. The other two were Gary Anderson (USA) (re-elected) and two-time Olympic Champion Wang Yifu (CHN). Incumbent Vice-Presidents Luciano Rossi and Gary Anderson where re-elected with 222 and 184 votes respectively. The two-time Olympic Champion Wang Yifu and the President of the European Shooting Confederation Vladimir Lisin were elected as ISSF Vice-Presidents with 209 and 182 votes respectively.

“Thank you very much for supporting me today. I will work for the sport with passion, and you will never regret this choice”, said the newly elected ISSF Vice-President Vladimir Lisin.


Risto Aarrekivi

Leave a comment

There are no comments yet.
Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in